Ice Champs – Again

From top left: Bob Valdes, Rob Myers. Bottom, from left: Ben Sumner, Don Marks, Vivek Pinto and Mark Tessar.

The Screaming Squirrels won the winter B2 ice championship in Laurel on Thursday. It’s the fourth time we won at the Gardens Ice House (fifth overall), and including roller it’s the eighth total Screaming Squirrels title. Personally, it’s my ninth as a couple of us won on a ball hockey team (el Fuego) in Rockville back in 2002. Don Marks was on the team with me for all nine of them. Rob Myers was on most of them and the longest tenured player aside from myself.

Just keep in mind, while nine sounds like a lot (it is for some people in that stretch), we give ourselves up to three chances a year (two ice sessions and one roller), so yes, we lose, too.

This Squirrels team overcame some early season adversity to win this championship.