New Hockey Bobblehead Website

Recently I helped launch a new website about hockey bobbleheads, called Fourth Line Bobbles. It’s the first and only online database of hockey bobbleheads given out at games. Right now it includes just the NHL, but it’ll be expanded to include the minor leagues.

The idea and nearly all of the work was done by one of my Capitals Outsider writers, Andy Wallace, who has been covering Capitals bobbleheads and often minor league hockey under my guidance.

Here’s the best part. Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo’s Puck Daddy blog, one of the most well-known hockey blogs in the country, featured an interview with Andy on Friday on a post titled The Hockey Bobblehead Database is mind-bogglingly fun. That obviously led to a huge spike in traffic and put this site on the map.

I don’t actually collect bobbleheads, but yes, I’ve written about them and I brought Andy on to focus on covering them as extensively as possible. Why? Why not. It’s clearly working, and he’s making something of it.

Anyway, check out Fourth Line Bobbles.


Summer Ice Champs – Finally

It’s kind of hard to believe that my hockey team, the Screaming Squirrels, won only their first summer league championship this past Sunday. We finished in third place and defeated a team that had only lost once all season (in a shootout). Not only that, we did it this year with a vastly shorter bench and without our second leading scorer.

This was our 6th ice championship, the 9th overall Squirrels championship (I think only me and Don Marks were on each of those teams), and 10th overall (a 2002 ball hockey title – also with Don).

Check out the game story.



Ice Champs – Again

From top left: Bob Valdes, Rob Myers. Bottom, from left: Ben Sumner, Don Marks, Vivek Pinto and Mark Tessar.

The Screaming Squirrels won the winter B2 ice championship in Laurel on Thursday. It’s the fourth time we won at the Gardens Ice House (fifth overall), and including roller it’s the eighth total Screaming Squirrels title. Personally, it’s my ninth as a couple of us won on a ball hockey team (el Fuego) in Rockville back in 2002. Don Marks was on the team with me for all nine of them. Rob Myers was on most of them and the longest tenured player aside from myself.

Just keep in mind, while nine sounds like a lot (it is for some people in that stretch), we give ourselves up to three chances a year (two ice sessions and one roller), so yes, we lose, too.

This Squirrels team overcame some early season adversity to win this championship.